Best Records of 2008

by Jeremy O'Bryan

Music has been a huge part of my life. I’ve written about this fact previously, in direct and indirect ways. Of all the albums I listened to that were released in 2008, are admittedly there weren’t a ton, these six records are stand-outs in my book.

  • Dual Hawks by South San Gabriel and Centro-Matic
  • Carried to Dust by Calexico
  • Modern Guilt by Beck
  • Midnight Organ Fight by Frightened Rabbit
  • Invisible Cinema by Aaron Parks
  • Tell-Tale Signs by Bob Dylan

Other artists and their songs figure largely into my aural experience last year, including:

Brad Mehldau, Pat Metheny, Stan Getz, Derek Webb, The Damnwells, E-Pop, Jack Johnson, Sam Lane, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Steve Hackett, Tord Gustavsen Trio, Mat Kearney, Robbie Seay Band, Liam Finn, Alexandre Desplat, Aaron Spiro, Gustavo Santaolalla, Pete Yorn, and Snow Patrol.

