Watching My Mouth

by Jeremy O'Bryan

I just received my weekly e-mail from 43 Things, a reminder I set up myself to “speak peace into others lives.” I set that thing up a few months ago, and it has been reminding me weekly. James, in chapter 3 of his epistle:

“With (our tongue) we bless our Lord and Father, and with it we curse people who are made in the likeness of God. From the same mouth come blessing and cursing. My brothers, these things ought not to be so. Does a spring pour forth from the same opening both fresh and salt water? Can a fig tree, my brothers, bear olives, or a grapevine produce figs? Neither can a salt pond yield fresh water.”

You can’t be one thing AND the other. Out of your heart comes you, right off your tongue. My attempt to speak peace into people’s lives really means exploring my heart to see if there is anything evil in me, then rooting it out. Everything’s already broken. Why should I contribute to that, when the One who died for me has invited me to take up my cross and follow Him? In Him my heart should be dedicated to shalom, or the knitted-together peace in which God first intended for this world to be suspended.

